Experts sound off on power, performance, and maintenance



PEAK Sponsorship Update 4.6

It was a busy weekend with the PEAK sports properties highlighted by Dan Fletcher winning his 96th NHRA national event, tying Warren Johnson for third place on the all-time win list. Check out how your favorite PEAK team finished this weekend below.

Kyle Busch led 352 laps in route to victory in Sunday’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Martinsville Speedway. Busch held off AJ Allmendinger for the win followed by Kyle Larson, Austin Dillon and Brad Keselowski rounding out the top five.

Clint Bowyer finished 25th after starting 30th and battled a loose handling car early in the 500-lap event. Bowyer battled to stay on the lead lap but the confines of the .526-mile track and loose conditions put him several laps down early on. The team worked on the handling issues and was able to get Bowyer running lap times competitive with the top-10 cars. Bowyer started making up ground past the mid-point of the race but cautions late in the race didn’t allow him to make up the lost laps and he finished 25th.

The NASCAR teams return to action on Saturday night, April 9th in Fort Worth, Texas at Texas Motor Speedway.

At the close of the 17th annual DENSO Spark Plug NHRA Nationals at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, John Force Racing held onto the points lead in Top Fuel and Funny Car while John Force raced to the semifinals and moved up to the number two position in the Funny Car point standings.

Driving the PEAK Antifreeze and Coolant Chevrolet Camaro SS Funny Car, John Force started the day by eliminating Matt Hagan in round one, daughter Courtney in round two, but came up just a little short in the Semi Finals against Alexis DeJoria. Robert Hight advanced to the second round where he lost a close race to event winner Alexis DeJoria. Hight still maintains the points lead after the Las Vegas event.

Brittany Force advanced to the second round after defeating Gainesville runner up Terry McMillen but was upset in the second round by event runner up Troy Buff. Brittany still maintains the Top Fuel points lead after the Las Vegas event.

Dan Fletcher picked up career win number 96 and his first in Super Comp when he outlasted the hottest driver in the class so far this season, Steve Williams in Las Vegas. With the win, Fletcher now has national event Wallys in five different classes; he has also scored in Comp, Super Stock, Stock, and Super Gas. Fletcher was first off the starting line, .017 to .073, and he turned the advantage into a 9.06 (9.05 index) to 9.01 win against Williams, who was appearing in his third national event final this season.

Then NHRA teams resume in Charlotte, North Carolina for the annual 4 Wide Nationals April 22-24.



In one of the most highly anticipated events of the season, 2015 PBR Rookie of the Year Kaique Pacheco swooped in and won his first event of this season. The win is Pacheco’s first since taking the event title in Nashville in September 2015.

Close to 25,000 came out to the event making Sioux Falls the third best-attended event for the PBR in 2016. Fans saw great riding and the 2004 World Champion Mike Lee finish the event in second place, followed by Fabiano Vieira in third, Gage Gay finished fourth place, and Ryan Dirteater rounded out the Top 5.

BlueDEF Riders Silvano Alves and Matt Triplett both rode at the event but did not post a score. Injured BlueDEF rider JW Harris did not ride at this event but remains 31st in series standing with Alves in 33rd.

The PBR BFTS continues April 8-9 in Little Rock Arkansas.



PBR BlueDEF Tour
On a night dominated by the bulls, Tyler Harr won the PBR BlueDEF Tour event in Fresno, California on Saturday night.

Harr went 2-for-2 for on the night, and was the only man to cover his bull in the championship round after riding Big Timer for 85.5 points. With the win, Harr earned an invitation to compete at the Built Ford Tough Series event in his home state of Arkansas on April 9-10.

In second place was Kade Alberty with 86.5 points, followed by Chase Robbins, Nathan Burtenshaw, and Josh Faircloth rounded out the top five.

The BlueDEF Tour heads next to Milwaukee, Wisconsin on Saturday, April 9.





Two-time champion Ray Alfalla took his first checkered flag of the 2016 NASCAR PEAK Antifreeze Series in dominating fashion at Auto Club Speedway. Alfalla started on the outside pole and quickly asserted himself as the driver to beat by taking the lead on the opening lap from pole-sitter Cody Byus and totaled a race-high 66 circuits at the front.

PJ Stergios finished second, five seconds behind Alfalla at the checkers for his fourth top-five finish in as many races. PEAK’s Kenny Humpe was third, followed by Allen Boes in fourth and David Rattler played an alternate pit strategy to earn a fifth place finish.

With a quarter of the 2016 season in the books, PJ Stergios and Alfalla are tied for the points lead, 11 points ahead of Allen Boes. In two weeks, the series heads to Texas Motor Speedway.



Chris Madden dominated the event in Ringgold, Georgia Friday night, leading all 50 laps, and taking his first win of the season and the eighth victory of his career.

Randy Weaver edged-out Jared Landers at the finish line for second place, followed by series points leader Jonathan Davenport in fourth and pole-sitter, Scott Bloomquist fifth. Completing the top ten were Dale McDowell, Casey Roberts, Jimmy Owens, PEAK’s Darrell Lanigan, and Dennis Erb Jr.

On Saturday night in Phenix City, Alabama, Jonathan Davenport came from third to first in the final three laps to win the 19th Annual Bama Bash.

Davenport passed both Scott Bloomquist and race leader Jared Landers in the waning laps for his sixth victory of the season. The defending series champion beat Landers, Bloomquist, Jimmy Owens, and PEAK’s Darrell Lanigan to the finish line for the win in front of one of the biggest crowds in track history. Completing the top ten were Earl Pearson Jr., Brandon Sheppard, Dennis Erb Jr., PEAK’s Don O’Neal and Tim McCreadie.

After this weekend’s events, PEAK’s driver Darrell Lanigan is currently 4th in the series standing with Don O’Neal in 9th. The series returns to action April 9th in Brownstown, Indiana for the annual Indiana Icebreaker event.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *