Experts sound off on power, performance, and maintenance



Robert Hight Continues His Domination

Robert Hight continues his domination in the Funny Car class, earning his 47th NHRA National event win Sunday in Gainesville, Florida.  Check out all the highlights below.


Robert Hight defeated a slew of veteran drag racers on his way to winning Sunday’s 50th annual NHRA Gatornationals at Gainesville Raceway. The two-time world champion put together a series of four 3.8 second passes to pick up his 47th career victory, fourth at the Gatornationals and second this season.

Hight’s path to victory took him through Terry Haddock, Ron Capps, PEAK’s John Force and in the final, Hight faced-off with Tim Wilkerson who went up in smoke at the start.

John Force, the winningest nitro class driver at Gainesville Raceway, started eliminations by defeating Jim Campbell and Matt Hagan in the opening rounds, then faced Hight in the Semifinals.

In Top Fuel, Brittany Force, the number one qualifier, won the opening round against Chris Karamesines but was defeated in the second round by T.J. Zizzo.  Austin Prock had an early exit during round one of eliminations after coming up short to Clay Millican.

The 2019 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series season will continue in Las Vegas with the NHRA Four-Wide Nationals, April 5-7 at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.


Kyle Busch picked up his 200th career NASCAR national series victory Sunday at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, California. His 200-win mark in NASCAR’s national series equals that of Richard Petty, who won 200 races in NASCAR’s premier series.  The win is Busch’s 53rd in the Cup series while he has 94 wins in the NASCAR Xfinity Series and another 53 in NASCAR Truck Series.

Busch won the Auto Club 400 in dominating fashion, pacing the field in both stages and crossing the line 2.354 seconds ahead of Joey Logano at the finish. Brad Keselowski, Kevin Harvick, and Ryan Blaney rounded out the top five.

PEAK’s Clint Bowyer was forced to the garage after completing 130 laps due to engine failure.

Click HERE for the race highlights.

The next event on the Cup Series schedule is Sunday, March 24th at Martinsville Speedway in Martinsville, Virginia.


Rich Energy Haas F1 Team driver Kevin Magnussen delivered a strong points-paying performance Sunday in the season-opening Australian Grand Prix at Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit.  Magnussen finished a best-of-the-rest sixth in the 58-lap race while teammate Romain Grosjean suffered a loose left-front wheel, ending his race after 29 laps.  The resulting eight points from Magnussen’s effort placed Rich Energy Haas F1 Team fourth in the constructors’ standings, two points ahead of fifth-place Renault and seven points behind third-place Red Bull.

Mercedes driver Valtteri Bottas won the Australian Grand Prix by 20.886 seconds over polesitter and teammate Lewis Hamilton. The win was the fourth of Bottas’ Formula One career, his first since the 2017 season finale in Abu Dhabi.

The 2019 FIA Formula One World Championship resumes with the Bahrain Grand Prix March 31st at Bahrain International Circuit in Sakhir.


The 2019 NASCAR PEAK Mexico Series will begin March 31st in Monterrey, Mexico.


Friday night, the series resumed at Atomic Speedway in Ohio but rain halfway through time trials postponed the event until April 11th.

On Saturday night, the dirt late model racers moved to Brownstown, Indiana where Brandon Sheppard denied Devin Moran his first series win of the season.  Sheppard becomes the fifth different winner on the tour this season after holding off a late-race charge from Moran for the win. Jonathan Davenport finished third, with Hudson O’Neal and Tyler Erb completing the top five.  Clint Bowyer Racing drivers Don O’Neal and Josh Richards finished sixth and seventh respectively.

The dirt late model racers resume April 5th in Seymour, Tennessee then follow with an event in Chatsworth, Georgia on April 6th with PEAK’s Josh Richards in fifth place in the series standings and teammate Don O’Neal tied for sixth.


Series rookie, Eric Smith, won his first career eNASCAR PEAK Antifreeze Series race at Auto Club Speedway Tuesday night in dramatic fashion. Smith came from sixth to first on the last lap and led the only lap that really matters, the last one.

With the leaders side-by-side coming off Turn Two, the 20 year old Illinois native decided to take the high line.  Nick Ottinger went three-wide with Ryan Luza and Corey Vincent. Luza and Vincent made slight contact, ending with Vincent spinning into Ottinger, taking them both out of the fight.

Luza emerged from the scuffle but lost momentum allowing Smith to surge ahead on the outside.  Keegan Leahy went to the bottom entering Turn Three with Smith and the two battled through turn Four and onto the home straight. Leahy began to inch back closer but ran out of race track as the field crashed behind with Smith the winner by 0.019 seconds over Leahy.  Luza slipped to third, nipping Bobby Zalenski and Matt Bussa completed the top five.

The series heads to the 1.5-mile Texas Motor Speedway on March 26th for race number four on the tour.

Luke Jago

March 18, 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *